Jump to content
In the Name of God بسم الله

Is it haram

Rate this topic


sweetchick_marwa

Recommended Posts

  • Advanced Member

(bismillah)

(salam)

This is completely off topic, but "Richard Whiteley" please remove your signiture. It is extremely offensive, especially during muharram.

I took the shahada on October 14th 2004 on the winter episode of Countdown. After Carol revealed the Conundrum, I had concocted an idea and mesmerised the crowd with these words "Ashadu ana Ali un Waliullah" I then pulled out a pair of long chains with blade extensions attached to them, and began to embrace them to my back screaming the words...O Martyr...O Martyr. I was then removed from my spot that I had for over 20 years, but this is precisely what my point was, I had been oppressed for this time and had taken a stand to the evil Tyrants at channel 4. I may have lost my place as a presenter, but my dignity is far greater..The message of countdown shall live on and the theme shall forever be in the minds of the brave, freedom loving, oppressed school children who have to come home and watch me because of their parents.

Have some respect and decency!

Wasalaam

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

(salam)

according to ayatullah sistani:

178. Question: Gelatin is used in a number of drinks and food items in the West. We do not know that gelatin has been extracted from a vegetable or an animal source; and that if it is from an animal, is it from its bones or from the tissues around the bones; neither do we know if the animal was one that is halãl for us or harãm. Are we allowed to eat such gelatin?

Answer: It is permissible to eat if the doubt is whether it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. But, if it is known that it was derived from an animal, then it is not permissible to eat without ascertaining that the animal was slaughtered according to sharí‘a. This prohibition applies, as a matter of obligatory precaution, even if it was extracted from animal bones.

Of course, if a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, there is no problem at all in eating it. Similarly, even if one has doubt whether the animal was slaughtered Islamically or not, still there is no problem in adding the gelatin [made from that animal] to the food in such a minute amont that it is completely absorbed in it.

from "A Code of Practice for Muslims in the West".

there is also a detailed analysis regarding whether istihlal occurs in the manufacture of gelatine or not here:

http://al-islam.org/organizations/aalimnetwork/msg00097.html

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

(salam)

yea iv always heard that gelatin is haram..thats y we cant eat the marshmallows sad.gif or licorise or pop tarts that hav icing on them

Allah has answered your prayers...These are awesome...check them out Insha'Allah...i buy them often.

Halal gelatin: Ingredients: Carrageenan, locust bean gum and malto-dextrin.

Halal marshmallows: Ingredients: Sugar (non-bone char refined), water, light corn syrup, Emes vegan gelatin, vanilla extract, corn starch

http://www.vegnessentials.com/

Edited by Riot For Muslimahs Rights
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

^thanks!!!...i kno isna sells marshmallows as well as RICE KRISPY TREATS (GOOD stuff!) :D ...do u kno if theres ne halal poptarts that ? ....u think that if we make a request to the company they can make poptarts without the icing (well they already hav those.but they dont hav choc poptarts w/o icing!!)

..i can say they'll make a hell of alot more money if they do!! :angel: !

Edited by Bismillah
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

Gelatin can also be taken from Fish. There are halal marshmallows by the way that has vegetarian or fish gelatin. Even around Hanukah I think they have Kosher marshmallows that are without gelatin.

Btw a friend of mine found out that gelatin was allowed according to her marja and bought LUCKY CHARMS. Well Last time I read Lucky Charms it said PORK GELATIN. I personally would refrain from Gelatin, just incase it is from a Pig I wouldn't want it in my system.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

Gelatin is Haram if u do know that it comes from an animal...unless u know the animal was slaughtered according to shariah..

but if u do not know where it came from and therefore have doubt u are permissible to eat the product...

and yes there are 2 different kinds of Gelatin..veggie and "meaty" lol...

the ruling is right up there...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

according to sayyid sistani, it is halal if the doubt is whether the gelatin is vegetable source or not. If you are sure it is a non-vegetable source, then you cant eat it unless you know it is halal.

from a previous thread, I mentioned that sayyid fadhlullah allows gelatin due to istihala taking place. Also, in the book code for muslims in the west (Sistani) it states that Sayid Khoie makes gelatin halal due to istihala taking place.

istihala is described as 'chemical change' in which the end product is not the same as the initial product, and the common example they use is when burnt would becomes ash, it is not the same as the wood.

So in conclusion, if you follow sistani, and you are CERTAIN that it's not a vegetable source of gelatin, then it HAS to be halal source.

if you are a follower of Fadhlullah, or were a follower of Khoie, then gelatin is halal.

Incidentally some people say that gelatin is made from bones (therefore an argument that it is halal), but I have never come across bone gelatin.)

hope that makes sense

salaam

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

Salaam

Doesnt gelatin go through a chemical change? i mean it becomes a completely different thing from what it was originally. so isnt it halal??

i dunno i just found out it could be halal and was just wondering if anyone knew, does gelatin go through a chemical change? if so then its ok no matter which animal it came from....right

Wa Salaa

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...