Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

celebrating birthdays of Prophets and Imams

Rate this topic

• Advanced Member

as salaamu 'alaykum,

forgive me but i am still very new to shi'ism. So i am asking a very basic question. According to a calendar i have we celebrate the birth of the Prophet(saw) and the Imams(as). But i was wondering if there was any precedent to this practice by our Prophet(saw). Its just i am currently in a discussion with someone who said that the Prophet did not condone such activities, so could you please provide me with evidence that this sunni brother will accept(ie from sunni sources) to back up our position, also could you please explain to me our position on this matter,

Shukran in advance

Adil

• Advanced Member

Aslamo 3alikum,

Well, I think Bro. Orion or Hezbullahi or Ya Aba 3abdillah or Zareen or Zainabia (Lol) will provide you the reference...

But, the birthdays of Prophets and Imams and even some scholars are celebrated by shias and sunnis both... :)

It is just the wahabis who dont celebrate it and label it as "bidah"..

Anyway, Shia Scholars think that this is Sharae'r of Allah (swt) and one who upholds His Sharaer will be rewarded (according to Quran)

ma'salama

sallam

As far as i think and knw...and not only wahabis but celebrate birthdays is not allowed. I mean yes its a day of happiness but 2 reasons y it shudnt be done:

1) it resembles the christians and jews and thus its not allowed. As the prophet (saw) said whosoever imitates the people he is one of them.

2) It was never celebrated by the Prophet (saw)

• Advanced Member
sallam

As far as i think and knw...and not only wahabis but celebrate birthdays is not allowed. I mean yes its a day of happiness but 2 reasons y it shudnt be done: