In the Name of God بسم الله

Permissibility of Working for General Companies

Rate this topic

Guest Sami

Guest Sami

Is it permissible to work for companies like General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, NASA, Aeronautics. All these companies have different sectors such as energy, space exploration, defense systems, drones, etc. Nasa makes rockets for space exploration but many times this technology is used for nuclear warheads, and offensive rockets.

Even if I didn't work for the war departments, can I still work there? For example, working on a surveillance satellite for google maps and other gps apps, but that same satellite might get used for military purposes, even if I did not know.

Another example is working on a faster and better drone for civilian purposes, but again, that same technology might get implemented in war drones.

I am an engineering student and these companies offer great benefits, pay, and knowledge.

Please search up the names of these companies from your side so you can better understand what I mean. 

Please don’t reply with irrelevant info, and if you are not sure. This site has lost its reputation years ago because of this.

I follow Sayyid Al sistani. 

• Forum Administrators
On 5/25/2024 at 9:01 PM, Guest Sami said:

I am an engineering student and these companies offer great benefits, pay, and knowledge.

If you work for these companies, just don't be surprised if there are some projects for which you are not assigned or for which you need security clearance. Obviously how far up the chain of leadership you can go will be limited as well.

And all of that is notwithstanding your own ethical stance.

• Advanced Member
On 5/25/2024 at 11:31 PM, Guest Sami said: