In the Name of God بسم الله

Hijab and misogyny

Rate this topic

Guest Guest

Salam, 

As the title suggests I have really been struggling with the concept of hijab and female modesty as it is currently practiced. I know there have been similar topics to this one, but unfortunately replies tend to be condescending and don’t address a sister’s concerns. 

In islam, the female body is seen as an awrah and therefore must be covered from the gaze of men. How does this not objectify the female body? This is the definition of objectification because it is making it seem like the female body is inherently sexual and shameful and therefore must be covered.

I have been wearing the hijab for almost two decades and explaining the meaning behind it to non-muslims always has me double thinking what I am actually saying to them. 

It is extremely unfair that the burden falls on women to cover up from men, because of what can result from men potentially doing. On the contrary, the hijab does not “protect” women from such men, because sexual assault and harassment is rampant in places around the world where hijab is practiced, and men will continue to treat women how they treat women. If the only type of woman available is a covered one, then she’s still a woman to them. Men also assault children, other men and even animals and dead bodies.

Women’s clothing and the concept of modesty has been practiced since the start of time, and it’s not just an islamic concept. All aspects of modesty that pertain to women’s clothing are rooted in misogyny tbh, and it seems like it is another way for women’s bodies to be controlled and policed. The controversy surrounding a woman’s clothing is a tale as old as time and women to this day are shamed and blamed for what they wear, as their bodies are seen as shameful, so why do we accept that Islam is doing it for different reasons?