Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Is it important for Shia Muslims to be able to recite Shahadah?

Rate this topic

• Basic Members
Posted (edited)

Hello, my name is [edit]. I live in [edit].  I am quite new to Islam and I have yet to convert.  I have a question for the Shia members of this site: I realise that, for Sunni Muslims, being able to recite Shahadah is one of their Five Pillars Of Islam.  However, being able to recite Shahadah is not one of Shia Muslims Ten Obligatory Acts - so, with this in mind, do Shia Muslims regard being able to recite Shahadah important?

I am assuming it is important to Shia people as I assume they need to recite it during their conversion ceremony/initiation.

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

By the way, I’m very happy to be a member of ShiaChat.com and I look forward to getting to know some of you.

Edited by Hameedeh
Please do not reveal personal information.

• Advanced Member

Salam alaykum.

May Allah bless you.

In Shia Islam, our Shahada is still very important. The difference is that we don't put it as one of the pillars because our actions are what matters most. 

I'm sure you know the Shia Shahada;
اَشْهَدُ اَنْ لا اِلَهَ إِلاَّ اللّهُ - I bear witness that there is no god but Allah
اَشْهَدُ أَنَّ مُحَمَّداً رَسُولُ اللّهِ - I bear witness that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah
أشهَدُ أَنّ عَلیاً ولی‌ُّالله - I bear witness that Ali is the Vicegerent of Allah

Here are some hadiths about the Shia Shahada: