Jump to content
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Choice of gelatine in a supplement

Rate this topic


Aliz

Recommended Posts

  • Basic Members

 

I am looking at using a dietary supplement that has gelatine in its soft gel capsules. There are two gelatine options, the first is bovine and the other is fish. The latter includes material from Basa fish which is considered non-halal in Shia laws because it does not have scales.

The manufacturing company states that the used gelatine is halal, but there is no qualification of that beyond the obvious point that bovine is from beef (as an alternative to porcine which is from pork).

My question hence is which is a safer option to go for - beef gelatine with the ambiguity or fish gelatine with Basa? I personally feel happier with fish gelatine but only if Basa contents are allowed.

P.S. Yes there are other companies providing the supplement too, but this company offers the most transparent content details by far. So looking elsewhere may be more painful.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators

Sometimes the gelatine is only contained in the casing rather than the inner contents of the capsule. 

In such cases you can consider emptying the contents out and throwing the casing away, or ordering empty non-gelatine capsule casings and transferring the content inside. It is a bit of a delicate operation but very much feasible :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
5 hours ago, Aliz said:

My question hence is which is a safer option to go for - beef gelatine with the ambiguity or fish gelatine with Basa? I personally feel happier with fish gelatine but only if Basa contents are allowed.

P.S. Yes there are other companies providing the supplement too, but this company offers the most transparent content details by far. So looking elsewhere may be more painful.

Salam according to both of Imam Khamenei & grand Ayatollah  Sistani you can't  consume gelatin from an animal which has not been slaughtered according  to Islamic  jurisprudence/Fiqh even from halal meat animals .

5 hours ago, Aliz said:

Basa fish which is considered non-halal in Shia laws because it does not have scales.

 

Quote

Common Halal and Non-Halal Sea Foods
Imam Husain Islamic Centre
"Eat any fish that has scales, and do not eat what does not have scales."
Imam Al-Baqir ((عليه السلام).)
[Al-Kulayni, Al-Kafi, Vol.6, p. 219]
no.    Halal    non-Halal
1    Anchovies    Basa 
2    Barramundi    Calamar

https://www.al-islam.org/fasting-and-holy-month-ramadhan-mansour-leghaei/common-halal-and-non-halal-sea-foods

Quote

Question 2: In the West, something called gelatin is made and incorporated into many beverages and foods. We do not know what gelatin is made from, plant or animal? And if it is taken from an animal, is it taken from its bone or from the tissues of the environment on the bone, can we eat such a thing without knowing that the animal was halal meat or haram meat?

Answer: If we suspect that it is derived from a plant or an animal, it is permissible to eat it, but as a precaution, if we know that it is taken from an animal and its legal purification is not proven, it is not permissible to eat it, even if it is provided from animal bones.  Yes, if we have the knowledge and certainty that its materials have been transformed and changed during chemical operations, eating it is absolutely harmless and it can be eaten. As some of it can be put in other food in which it is consumed despite the doubt in the purification of that animal.

According to Imam Khamenei you can use 

Quote

Gelatin from a non-Muslim country
405. It is permissible to eat food that contains the substance of gelatin, if that this substance is obtained from the bone of a cow or other halal animal.

Suspicious gelatin
406. Converting halal meat or haram animal materials into gelatin is not transformation, but if gelatin has a halal and haram type and man does not know which type it belongs to, It is deemed to be halal.

according to grand  Ayattollah  Sistani

Quote

Question: What is the ruling on using supplements which made from natural or synthetic gelatin (capsules)?
Answer: There is no problem in consuming it.

https://hadana.ir/حكم-ژلاتين-خوراكي/

Quote

1. Comment of Ayatollah Khamenei
Ayatollah Khamenei states that whether or not gelatin is haram or halal depends on its ingredients. They believe:

Gelatin is a solvent plant.
Gelatin made from the bones of Halal animals that have not been slaughtered according  to Sharia is halal.
Gelatin made from the skins of halal animals that have not been slaughtered according  to Sharia is haram and impure.
Gelatin made from the remains of haram animals is haram.
He also says: If you can not tell if the gelatin you are going to eat is made up of halal or haram substances, there is no problem in eating it.

 

Quote

۲. Comment of Ayatollah Sistani
Ayatollah Sistani believes that if you do not know the gelatin that your hand is made from plant or animal sources, there is no problem in eating it. But if you know that it is made of animal and you are not aware of the slaughter status and type of animal, it is not right to eat it.

Ayatollah Sistani also states that if we are sure that the bones of a forbidden meat animal have lost their nature and been "transformed" due to chemical activities carried out to produce gelatin, there is no problem in eating it; Of course, we do not know whether it has been transformed or not.

https://www.leader.ir/fa/content/23632/www.leader.ir

https://setare.com/fa/news/35274/حکم-خوردن-ژلاتین-بر-اساس-دیدگاه-مراجع-تقلید/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
6 hours ago, Aliz said:

My question hence is which is a safer option to go for - beef gelatine with the ambiguity or fish gelatine with Basa? I personally feel happier with fish gelatine but only if Basa contents are allowed.

Because  Basa is haram so therefore you must take beef gelatine even it has abmiguity because if gelatin comes from an ambiguous  source then consuming it has no problem but on the other hand if it comes from a haram source likewise Basa then consuming it is forbidden except that it tranforms (استحاله) by chemical activities . 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Basic Members
50 minutes ago, Ashvazdanghe said:

Salam according to both of Imam Khamenei & grand Ayatollah  Sistani you can't  consume gelatin from an animal which has not been slaughtered according  to Islamic  jurisprudence/Fiqh even from halal meat animals .

6 hours ago, Aliz said:

Salam @Ashvazdanghe, We can only assume the animal where the gelatine came from was slaughtered according to Islam, as the manufacturer says their product is halal. Otherwise, how can the product be called halal?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Basic Members
1 hour ago, Ashvazdanghe said:
Quote

Gelatin is a solvent plant.
Gelatin made from the bones of Halal animals that have not been slaughtered according  to Sharia is halal.
Gelatin made from the skins of halal animals that have not been slaughtered according  to Sharia is haram and impure.
Gelatin made from the remains of haram animals is haram.
He also says: If you can not tell if the gelatin you are going to eat is made up of halal or haram substances, there is no problem in eating it.

Indeed any gelatine from Basa would be haram because Basa is haram.

The quote above appears to offer a way forward for beef gelatine. I will seek to know its source (bones or skins) then if not successful go ahead and use it.

Grateful for your quoted details, @Ashvazdanghe.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...