Jump to content
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Halal sites for snacks in Australia?


Recommended Posts

  • Advanced Member

Peace be upon you, Is there trusted halal food/snacks etc, sites for Australia? Anyone from Australia know any please list because I keep finding sites they all have different views for example one site says doritos nacho cheese chips halal and other site says has pig blood which = haram.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

1 Option is to buy snacks/food etc from Markets/shops that sells Halal food.

Lilydale Free Range - Halal Chicken https://lilydalefreerange.com.au/frequently-asked-questions

The PDF has the list of Lilydale Halal chicken parts.

Doritos Cheeps - I don't see why it would be. Check this https://www.facebook.com/halalfoodaustralia/photos/smiths-chips-vegetarian-suitable-list-last-updated-on-20082020please-read-the-en/562967337407166/

https://www.halalfood.com.au/product-directory-1/Smiths-Snackfood/Doritos-Crackers-Cheese-Supreme

https://www.halalfood.com.au/

I hope these helps.

I live in Australia too

 

lilydale_halal_list.pdf

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
1 hour ago, Meedy said:

1 Option is to buy snacks/food etc from Markets/shops that sells Halal food.

Lilydale Free Range - Halal Chicken https://lilydalefreerange.com.au/frequently-asked-questions

The PDF has the list of Lilydale Halal chicken parts.

Doritos Cheeps - I don't see why it would be. Check this https://www.facebook.com/halalfoodaustralia/photos/smiths-chips-vegetarian-suitable-list-last-updated-on-20082020please-read-the-en/562967337407166/

https://www.halalfood.com.au/product-directory-1/Smiths-Snackfood/Doritos-Crackers-Cheese-Supreme

https://www.halalfood.com.au/

I hope these helps.

I live in Australia too

 

lilydale_halal_list.pdf 98.5 kB · 0 downloads

Hey, brother thank you for the help but I Can't trust halalfood.com.au because they put the doritos cheese supreme as halal and the Facebook link you sent says it's haram, I can't trust the site if I already 1 error. but thank you for the Facebook link looks useful.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Basic Members

Assalam Aleykum respected Sister/brother

Thank you for raising this question as I've always struggled to find authentic websites to determine whether certain food products are considered halal or haram. The final option which has helped me is to call the company of the product and confirm the ingredients from them. Some of the websites are not reliable and have mixed opinions as you mentioned.

Insha'Allah the following websites are helpful,

http://isithalalinaustralia.blogspot.com/search/label/Toothpaste

https://www.halalfood.com.au/halal-product-directory

https://anichalal.org.au/

https://www.halalmui.org/images/stories/pdf/LSH/LSHLN-LPPOM MUI.pdf

https://www.islamiccouncilwa.com.au/halal-certification/halal-guidelines/

https://www.agriculture.gov.au/export/controlled-goods/meat/elmer-3/list-islamic-halal-certification

http://halalinislam.blogspot.com/p/e-codes.html

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
On 9/29/2021 at 8:08 AM, old member said:

Assalam Aleykum respected Sister/brother

Thank you for raising this question as I've always struggled to find authentic websites to determine whether certain food products are considered halal or haram. The final option which has helped me is to call the company of the product and confirm the ingredients from them. Some of the websites are not reliable and have mixed opinions as you mentioned.

Insha'Allah the following websites are helpful,

http://isithalalinaustralia.blogspot.com/search/label/Toothpaste

https://www.halalfood.com.au/halal-product-directory

https://anichalal.org.au/

https://www.halalmui.org/images/stories/pdf/LSH/LSHLN-LPPOM MUI.pdf

https://www.islamiccouncilwa.com.au/halal-certification/halal-guidelines/

https://www.agriculture.gov.au/export/controlled-goods/meat/elmer-3/list-islamic-halal-certification

http://halalinislam.blogspot.com/p/e-codes.html

I think Halalfood.com.au shouldn't be trusted 

the http://halalinislam.blogspot.com/p/e-codes.html very useful ty

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

the http://halalinislam.blogspot.com/p/e-codes.html the website says E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines [Colouring] [animal origin] haram. 

sistani and khamenei has it halal and Sunni - Maliki have it halal, I don't know about most Shia

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

Appendices » Ingredients and preservatives in food products

Carmine / Cochineal (E120): It comes from insects and is used in coloring food items. It is halãl.

https://www.sistani.org/english/book/46/2077/

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
22 minutes ago, Ashvazdanghe said:

Appendices » Ingredients and preservatives in food products

Carmine / Cochineal (E120): It comes from insects and is used in coloring food items. It is halãl.

https://www.sistani.org/english/book/46/2077/

 

Yeah I know I just copied and pasted the E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines [Colouring] [animal origin] haram.  from website showing that website could have wrong stuff since one ingredient saying it's already saying haram.

http://halalinislam.blogspot.com/p/e-codes.html i think website not authentic 

Edited by Labyika ya Khamenei
Typo
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • Site Administrators
On 9/30/2021 at 5:14 AM, Labyika ya Khamenei said:

the http://halalinislam.blogspot.com/p/e-codes.html the website says E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines [Colouring] [animal origin] haram. 

sistani and khamenei has it halal and Sunni - Maliki have it halal, I don't know about most Shia

ummm where exactly has Seyed Khamenei said Carmine(E120) is halal? As far as i know only Seyed Sistani says it's halal. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
On 10/13/2021 at 1:26 AM, root said:

ummm where exactly has Seyed Khamenei said Carmine(E120) is halal? As far as i know only Seyed Sistani says it's halal. 

I read it somewhere in his book but I sent email just for you incase you don't take my words. As you could see the attached screenshot.

Screenshot_20211014-182221_Gmail.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Site Administrators
51 minutes ago, Labyika ya Khamenei said:

I read it somewhere in his book but I sent email just for you incase you don't take my words. As you could see the attached screenshot.

Screenshot_20211014-182221_Gmail.jpg

Thanks, but the question is, is it gushing of blood while its alive or does it count when its dead?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
On 9/24/2021 at 11:14 PM, Labyika ya Khamenei said:

Peace be upon you, Is there trusted halal food/snacks etc, sites for Australia? Anyone from Australia know any please list because I keep finding sites they all have different views for example one site says doritos nacho cheese chips halal and other site says has pig blood which = haram.

According to Al-Sayyid Al-Sistani, it is not necessary to check the ingredients. If you are not sure whether it contains something haram then it is permissible to consume. 

If a person knows for sure that there are animal products (i.e., meat) in a snack, then it is necessary to make sure that the meat is halal.

Edited by Muhammad Al-Hurr
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
17 minutes ago, Muhammad Al-Hurr said:

According to Al-Sayyid Al-Sistani, it is not necessary to check the ingredients. If you are not sure whether it contains something haram then it is permissible to consume. 

If a person knows for sure that there are animal products (i.e., meat) in a snack, then it is necessary to make sure that the meat is halal.

How about imam khamenei?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
question| Are the non-animal-based edible products—such as various types of chocolates, chewing gums, and cookies—that are imported from non-Muslim countries canonically edible (ḥalāl)?
answer| Consuming non-animal-based edible products imported from non-Muslim countries is permissible unless one is certain that they are made from canonically impure (najis) or inedible (ḥarām) substances.

https://www.leader.ir/en/content/24355/Consumption-of-Imported-Edible-Products

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
1 minute ago, Labyika ya Khamenei said:

I think when it's dead. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong.

If, hypothetically, the jugular vein of a live creature is cut and the blood would gush out as a result, then all the blood of this creature is impure and after the creature dies its dead body is also impure. Otherwise, anything from the animal is pure (such as blood, urine, faeces, its dead body, etc.).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
3 hours ago, Muhammad Al-Hurr said:
question| Are the non-animal-based edible products—such as various types of chocolates, chewing gums, and cookies—that are imported from non-Muslim countries canonically edible (ḥalāl)?
answer| Consuming non-animal-based edible products imported from non-Muslim countries is permissible unless one is certain that they are made from canonically impure (najis) or inedible (ḥarām) substances.

https://www.leader.ir/en/content/24355/Consumption-of-Imported-Edible-Products

All my time I have been checking and sending email because in Australia it's known for secret ingredient is alcohol or pig.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Site Administrators

I just find the whole gushing of blood explanation strange. To me that sounds like a ruling regarding animals that actually have gushing blood. Insects are not part of animals that have the same cardiovascular system as mammals and others. And as far as i have understood the only insect that is halal is grasshopper if im not mistaken. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
27 minutes ago, root said:

I just find the whole gushing of blood explanation strange. To me that sounds like a ruling regarding animals that actually have gushing blood. Insects are not part of animals that have the same cardiovascular system as mammals and others. And as far as i have understood the only insect that is halal is grasshopper if im not mistaken. 

Locust is generally what is considered halal by the scholars. 

I haven't seen a fatwa allowing the consumption of grasshoppers.

Edited by Sumerian
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
18 minutes ago, root said:

Insects are not part of animals that have the same cardiovascular system as mammals and others. And as far as i have understood the only insect that is halal is grasshopper if im not mistaken. 

Insects do not have gushing blood. This does not mean they are permissible to consume. It just means they are pure even after death, as well as anything that comes from them (i.e., urine).

The response from leader.ir is saying that if the colours from the carmine are completely dissolved and diluted in the food/drink such to the extent that no traces remain, then it is permissible to consume the food/drink.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Site Administrators
26 minutes ago, Sumerian said:

Locust is generally what is considered halal by the scholars. 

I haven't seen a fatwa allowing the consumption of grasshoppers.

Sorry, i meant Locust, though they seem to be the same thing, grasshoppers morph into locust from a fast googling. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Site Administrators
23 minutes ago, Muhammad Al-Hurr said:

Insects do not have gushing blood. This does not mean they are permissible to consume. It just means they are pure even after death, as well as anything that comes from them (i.e., urine).

The response from leader.ir is saying that if the colours from the carmine are completely dissolved and diluted in the food/drink such to the extent that no traces remain, then it is permissible to consume the food/drink.

How can one determine that though? if the colours from the carmine is completely dissolved and diluted? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
1 hour ago, root said:

How can one determine that though? if the colours from the carmine is completely dissolved and diluted? 

If, conventionally speaking, the colours completely dissolved, then this is sufficient (i.e., the traces are no longer visible, nor can they be precisely smelt or tasted).

I am not certain whether the smell and taste of the traces have to be gone (conventionally speaking) but the traces must no longer be visible.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member

Salam, brother why not take this as an invitation from Allah to cut down on the consumption of these processed foods? Sometimes when He closes a door in front of you, it's to lead you to another better one. 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Advanced Member
On 10/15/2021 at 12:35 AM, root said:

Sorry, i meant Locust, though they seem to be the same thing, grasshoppers morph into locust from a fast googling. 

Ruling 2640. It is unlawful to eat a locust that has not developed wings and is unable to fly.

https://www.sistani.org/english/book/48/2358/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...