Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

People who become Shia, please share your stories.

Rate this topic

Guest asker

please tell me your story how did you became Shia , and what is the most thing that really makes you become Shia. 

• Moderators

I converted to Islam because I read the Quran. When I started learning about hadith I almost left Islam, but a friend told me there was more than one way of looking at Islam, and referred me to some shia websites (not shiachat though).

• Advanced Member
2 hours ago, notme said:

When I started learning about hadith I almost left Islam

Salam sis, is it possible for you to share why you almost left Islam? Do you have advice for those who intend to learn hadith but are afraid they’ll go down a rabbit hole?

• Moderators
1 hour ago, User 313 said:

Salam sis, is it possible for you to share why you almost left Islam? Do you have advice for those who intend to learn hadith but are afraid they’ll go down a rabbit hole?

It was a long time ago. I don't remember the exact sunni hadiths that the ladies who I met taught me; they were something about the inferiority and inherent sinfulness of women. I've since heard similar ones from Shia sources, but I was much more fragile in my faith, as a new convert.

Now when I learn some hadith or bit of history that seems wrong, I just remind myself that if it is not one of the pillars of Islam and I don't believe it, I'm still a believer. 

• Moderators
Posted (edited)