Jump to content
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Miscellaneous jurisprudential questions

Rate this topic


Recommended Posts

  • Advanced Member

There's an app called "scan halal"

Link: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/scan-halal/id589534185

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.anasrazzaq.scanhalal&hl=en&gl=US

 

Set it to zabiha halal in the option and scan the product barcode. It'll tell you if it's halal or haram.

Wasalam

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 181
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

We pray towards the Kaaba. Is that shirk? No. In fact, it is better to face the Kaaba when supplicating to Allah.  Please think deeply about your questions and only ask the question if it is

Everyone should have enough money to have some disposable income. And there’s nothing wrong with it. Being wealthy isn’t wrong—it’s what you do with it. 

  • Advanced Member

You can also eat "Kafir fish". Okay jokes aside.

Fish is fish. It doesn't matter who is slaughtering it. You can consume it. Just stick to the fish that is allowed by Shi'a Fiqh such as trout or salmon etc. 

Kosher fish is just any other fish which has fins and scales if I remember correct. It's not specially slaughtered in any special way. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

We have spring rolls that are vegetarian and nearly all the ingredients are halal no meat or fish in them, but there is one ingredient which is called star anise, is it halal ?,

and also it says on the packaging that its a product of india, can we still eat it if we dont know if non-muslims in india actually made the spring rolls ?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators
56 minutes ago, razkjgty5 said:

What if the product has cheese in it but it says vegetarian but not vegan, do we have to check every time if it has pork enzymes in it because it can be really exhausting ?

Ask your marja, as rulings vary, but it's better to err on the side of caution if you don't know. Cheese can't be vegan. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

Ok, also it says on the packaging that its a product of india, can we still eat it if we dont know if non-muslims (mostly idol worshippers) in india actually made the spring rolls, with their hands ?

 

And (idol worshippers) are najis 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member
34 minutes ago, razkjgty5 said:

What if the product has cheese in it but it says vegetarian but not vegan, do we have to check every time if it has pork enzymes in it because it can be really exhausting ?

Don't worry pork enzymes is not used for cheese making. It nee to be the same animal type as where the milk comes from. So if the cheese is made form cows milk they use calf rennet or if the cheese is made from goats milk they use kid rennet. That is if it is not made form vegetable enzymes.  I have never heard of anybody milking a pig even though the idea is amusing.
https://www.eathalal.ca/2009/01/cheese-contains-rennet-from-pigs.html

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Guest guest guest
1 hour ago, razkjgty5 said:

Ok, also it says on the packaging that its a product of india, can we still eat it if we dont know if non-muslims (mostly idol worshippers) in india actually made the spring rolls, with their hands ?

 

22 minutes ago, Mahdavist said:

Since you don't know who made it and whether there was a transfer of wetness from their hands to the product you can assume that it is permissible to eat.

Basically, this

Also India has a lot of Muslims too, so you don't need to worry as much as say a Chinese product

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

Ruling 192. If wine turns into vinegar by itself or by pouring something like vinegar or salt into it, it becomes pure.

Ruling 193. Wine that is made from impure grapes and suchlike, or wine that has come into contact with some other impurity, does not become pure by turning into vinegar.

https://www.sistani.org/english/book/48/2143/

This rule applies to all types of alcohol. However, I am not for certain if this also applies to beer so it is better to check.

2 hours ago, razkjgty5 said:

And what if a product has alcohol in their product but does not intoxicate like IRN-BRU is it permissible to drink if alcohol is impure ?

I do not know what IRN-BRU is but these are the basic rulings: Wine is impure. According to As-Sayyid As-Sistani, beer, upon obligatory precaution, is also impure. All other types of alcohol are pure but impermissible to consume. However, according to As-Sayyid As-Sistani, if there is a very low amount of pure alcohol inside a drink then it is permissible to consume the drink. If a drink has even a drop of wine in it then it is impure and impermissible to consume. If a drink has even a drop of beer in it then, according to As-Sayyid As-Sistani, upon obligatory precaution, it is impure and impermissible to consume.

Question: What about using the families of alcohol that are synthesized from petroleum and are used in perfume, medicine etc are they Najis and cannot be used during prayer?

Answer: All kinds of alcohol (whether extracted from wood or other sources) are Tahir (ritually pure), and are not permissible to drink, except for wine which is [also] Najis, and Beer (Maa al-Sha'eir) which is also Najis (ritually impure) as an obligatory precaution..
So, the medicines and the perfumes containing alcohol are pure and can be used.
It is also permissible to eat such food if the amount of alcohol is very minute, e.g., 2%, except for wine [and beer upon obligatory precaution].
Edited by Muhammad Al-Hurr
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member
17 hours ago, razkjgty5 said:

Ok, also it says on the packaging that its a product of india, can we still eat it if we dont know if non-muslims (mostly idol worshippers) in india actually made the spring rolls, with their hands ?

Salaam,

No problem. India has the second largest muslim population in the world after Indonesia. A lot of companies have workers coming from a muslim background. So, there is a fair chance of food being made by a muslim. On the basis of doubt, you can eat it. Np

May Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَ تَعَالَى) bless you

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Forum Administrators
17 hours ago, razkjgty5 said:

Ok, also it says on the packaging that its a product of india, can we still eat it if we dont know if non-muslims (mostly idol worshippers) in india actually made the spring rolls, with their hands ?

 

And (idol worshippers) are najis 

This is a good reason for assuming that any leather products coming from India are definitely halal.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators
2 hours ago, Haji 2003 said:

This is a good reason for assuming that any leather products coming from India are definitely halal.

There are certain regions in India (for example Rajasthan, if I'm not wrong) where you can almost be sure that the meat isn't halal because they have their own method of slaughter. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

The material that the turbah is made of is valid for tayammum to be performed upon. However, as far as I am concerned, one turbah is insufficient. You need to find something, like dirt for example, that the entire of both hands can be placed upon simultaneously. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Moderators
53 minutes ago, Shahrukh K said:

What is the meaning of halal meat ? How do you know meat you are eating is halal ?

Firstly, the animal itself has to be one of the permissible animals for consumption (cow, sheep, goat, camel etc)

Secondly one should slaughter it as per the islamic method, reciting the basmala while cutting the jugular vein. 

How do you know if it's halal? By purchasing your meat at a halal butchery, by slaughtering your own meat or by enquiring at whichever place you're eating if the meat is halal. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

Do any drinks which have grapes in them with no intoxicating percentage of alcohol haram, like ribena it has a little bit of alcohol which does not intoxicate and it has grapes aswell,

so does that make it wine, because it has alcohol and grapes. As it says they use alcohol for flavouring below:

We do not add alcohol to our products as an ingredient, but there may be very low levels present in our products as alcohol is present as part of some of the flavourings used in our products. Alcohol is defined as ethyl alcohol or ethanol.  We are advised by International Trade Federations that products cannot be claimed to be alcohol free as natural fruit flavours and fruit juices may contain naturally occurring alcohol.

 
 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

Is day trading gambling, if you study it and you have practised on a demo account, and have made many profits , and obviously losses but you've had more wins that losses and made profit, and you feel confident enough to trade with real money. And if you know you arent going to be 100% every time and you are going to make losses, but everything has risk when making money. So is it halal even if you dont own the stock you are just speculating the price based on educated guesses ? And you arent using any leverage or any other haram things.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

Honestly, all the topics you have been spamming into the juris. subsection can be solved with one simple google search. It'd take less time than making a topic I estimate. Or you could create one topic called "my food concerns" and just spam it with your questions.

It's pretty annoying to go into that section and just see your stuff flooded.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

Is making dua to kaaba shirk, if you look at the kaaba and you say Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَ تَعَالَى) and you speak to Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَ تَعَالَى) when looking at the kaaba or make dua, is that shirk and are similar activities shirk ?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Mahdavist changed the title to Miscellaneous jurisprudential questions

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...