Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Working in the field of Biomedicine / Medicine - Unethical for a Muslim?

Rate this topic

• Advanced Member

Asalamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu

Whats the opinion of working in the medicine field based on,

1)Researching and editing genes, including stuff like viruses and such 
2)Creating medicines with haram ingredients/administrating haram ingredient medicine, for example if I have to prescribe a pill that contains gelatine or a mind altering drug to an insane person.

I am planning on studying medicine/biomedicine but I fear getting into these sorts of careers due to the issue of potential my working potential being haram.

As we know as a doctor I may also be responsible for having to approve abortions and such, which conflicts with my religion, should I give up my dream?

• Moderators
13 hours ago, Labbayka said:

1)Researching and editing genes, including stuff like viruses and such 

Nothing wrong with this per se. It's just like hacking , you can learn and use it for good or to cause harm, up to you.

2)Creating medicines with haram ingredients/administrating haram ingredient medicine, for example if I have to prescribe a pill that contains gelatine or a mind altering drug to an insane person.

It is not obligatory on a Muslim to investigate whether or not the medicine [given to him] consists of forbidden ingredients, even if the process of reading a result is easy for him. (Ayatullah Sistani)

may also be responsible for having to approve abortions and such, which conflicts with my religion, should I give up my dream?