Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
KnowledgeSeeker36

Surah 11 Verses 45-47

Rate this topic

Salaam, verses 45-47 of Surah 11: 

Shakir 11:45 And Nuh cried out to his Lord and said: My Lord! surely my son is of my family, and Thy promise is surely true, and Thou art the most just of the judges.
Shakir 11:46 He said: O Nuh! surely he is not of your family; surely he is (the doer of) other than good deeds, therefore ask not of Me that of which you have no knowledge; surely I admonish you lest you may be of the ignorant
Shakir 11:47 He said: My Lord! I seek refuge in Thee from asking Thee that of which I have no knowledge; and if Thou shouldst not forgive me and have mercy on me, I should be of the losers.

How do I understand Noah’s (عليه السلام) concerns to his Lord? I don’t know if this seems like a silly or uneducated question, but I want to understand and learn. How do I read Noah’s (عليه السلام) concerns about his son and his statement about Allah’s promise? What do these verses mean exactly? I know Noah (عليه السلام) cannot be of those of the ignorant. How then, do we read his concerns to Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَ تَعَالَى)?

3 hours ago, KnowledgeSeeker36 said:

therefore ask not of Me that of which you have no knowledge; surely I admonish you lest you may be of the ignorant

Noah's (عليه السلام) son either does or thinks sinfully, Noah (عليه السلام) is either appealing on his behalf or asking why his son is how he is because "surely he is of my family"; while admitting that God (سُبْحَانَهُ وَ تَعَالَى) is a just judge and God (سُبْحَانَهُ وَ تَعَالَى) says to him (to paraphrase): "Hey, you know what your son's deal is because you raised him, so ask me about something that you don't know, because I Am God and I know about things that you don't. I'm telling you this so you won't waste this opportunity"