Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Ruqaya101

[Closed/Review]Assumptions and misconceptions

Rate this topic

What are the biggest misconceptions and assumptions about Shia Islam?

Or about Shia Muslims? Have you experienced this or has anyone directly asked you about it?

If so, how did you answer them?

And from a subjective aspect, has anyone in general assumed something about you from the get-go? If so, as a Shia Muslim or a person in general, how do you deal with it?

How did the Ahlul Bayt deal with similar or worse situations? Why do many people excuse themselves with “they’re Prophets and Imams, I’m not a Prophet or Imam”? Is this just a defensive mechanism?

What would you describe yourself as in terms of when someone criticises you, assumes something about you, how do you deal with it? 

What’s your opinion on defensive and sarcastic retaliation? 

I posted this in another thread but I've just added some more and changed some... 

Some common questions I've been asked as a Shia (which is kind of relevant to this topic).

"Why do you think that Imam Ali (عليه السلام) is above Prophet Muhammad (صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم)? 

"Why do you hit yourself?" 

"Why do you always cry?"

"Why do you cut yourself?"

"Why do you cut babies?"

"Why do you hate Abu Bakr?" 

"Why do you curse Aisha?"

"Why do you worship Imam Ali (عليه السلام)?" 

"Why do you commit shirk by visiting shrines [of the Imams]?

"Why do you allow zina? (referring to Mut'ah)"

"Why don't you pray properly?"

"Why do you pray at the wrong time?"

"Why do you pray 3 times a day and not 5 times a day?"

I'll post more if I can remember any... 

Edited by Ali~J

Guest Pschological Warfare
5 hours ago, Ali~J said:

"Why do you think that Imam Ali (عليه السلام) is above Prophet Muhammad (صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم)? 

"Why do you worship Imam Ali (عليه السلام)?"