Jump to content
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
Guest wondering

Halal restaurants by Ahle Kitab

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Guest wondering

Assalamailakium brothers and sisters.

I wanted to ask a question regarding a restaurant.

There is a restaurant near my area that is owned by Arab Christians, but the meat, according to them, is Zabihah Halal.

My marja is Ayatollah Sistani, and I know that according to him, one can eat the food of an Ahle Kitab, but my question is how about if the halal meat is handled by Ahle Kitab.

The restaurant in question even has two halal signs, one in Arabic and one in english.

Is it haram to eat their or not?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest de trout

Muslims have Halal, Jews have Kosher. Christians today don't have an equivalent. Would you eat meat from a Muslim that just killed the animal and butchered it? Of course not, he would have to make it halal. So why would it be okay to eat from Christians who do nothing?

Try asking the owners what they do to make the meat Halal?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/8/2019 at 5:00 PM, Guest wondering said:

Assalamailakium brothers and sisters.

I wanted to ask a question regarding a restaurant.

There is a restaurant near my area that is owned by Arab Christians, but the meat, according to them, is Zabihah Halal.

My marja is Ayatollah Sistani, and I know that according to him, one can eat the food of an Ahle Kitab, but my question is how about if the halal meat is handled by Ahle Kitab.

The restaurant in question even has two halal signs, one in Arabic and one in english.

Is it haram to eat their or not?

Wa alaykom salaam

You have to verfie that the meat is actually slaughtered according to to Islamic law. Like from the company they buy from. Or the supplier. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, Guest wondering said:

Assalamailakium brothers and sisters.

I wanted to ask a question regarding a restaurant.

There is a restaurant near my area that is owned by Arab Christians, but the meat, according to them, is Zabihah Halal.

My marja is Ayatollah Sistani, and I know that according to him, one can eat the food of an Ahle Kitab, but my question is how about if the halal meat is handled by Ahle Kitab.

The restaurant in question even has two halal signs, one in Arabic and one in english.

Is it haram to eat their or not?

The meat has to be slaughtered according to Islamic Law, and according to Sayyed Al-Sistani one of the conditions of legitimate slaughter is that it is done by a Muslim.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
23 hours ago, Guest wondering said:

The restaurant in question even has two halal signs, one in Arabic and one in english.

Is it haram to eat their or not?

Salam it’s halal to eat there ,there is Restaurants & confectionaries in Tehran & rest of Iranian cities that everyone are going there & eat their prepared food  & cakes & sweets.

Edited by Ashvazdanghe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest Guest wondering
On 6/9/2019 at 7:12 AM, Rohani said:

Wa alaykom salaam

You have to verfie that the meat is actually slaughtered according to tonislamic law. Like from the company they buy from. Or the supplier. 

 

On 6/9/2019 at 7:17 AM, Sumerian said:

The meat has to be slaughtered according to Islamic Law, and according to Sayyed Al-Sistani one of the conditions of legitimate slaughter is that it is done by a Muslim.

Assalamalakium once again

So I would have to ask the owners where they get their meats?

If so, I will ask repentance from Allah regarding my mistake and probably avoid going their further.

Thanks to all the posters for your answers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can you eat anything that’s non meat from non Muslim restaurants? I do but people have recently told me I shouldn’t because they use the same hands/utensils to prepare meals with haram meat in them. One lady at the mosque told me she tells them not to cut her pizza because the cutting utensil is used for meat pizzas too ..... but they touch the meat with their hands and stuff too? I don’t get it. Can anyone help me?

Edited by Nevsevug

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Nevsevug Salaam, I have pretty much stuck to eating a strictly halal diet because in non-Muslim restaurants there are chances of cross-contamination. There are people who say that there are situations where if you can’t see the cross-contamination, then you can’t say something is cross-contaminated. I just don’t want to be in that situation in general where I’m thinking about whether my non-meat meal has touched the non-halal meats, or if the workers have touched the non-halal meat and then touched my food. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/10/2019 at 12:02 AM, Guest Guest wondering said:

Assalamalakium once again

So I would have to ask the owners where they get their meats?

If so, I will ask repentance from Allah regarding my mistake and probably avoid going their further.

Thanks to all the posters for your answers

Wa alaykom salaam. Yes you have to find out where the meat is from and verfie it is zabiha. Unless the owner is a Muslim 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...