Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
ShiaChat.com
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

• Moderators

Salam

My current gig is as a stay-at-home mom, but my kids are going to grow up inshallah, and I'm a mom not a maid. I'd like to decide what kind of work to train for when my children are older. 

My background is land development civil engineering, but I've also worked in aquatic ecology a good bit, and I'm generally interested in and good at science and problem solving. Working in aquatic ecology, I became frustrated by the manipulation of data to satisfy clients. Also, my education is in engineering, so I tended to be given more management oriented, less science oriented work. I worked for many years in civil engineering, and I was constantly required to violate my ethics and principles for the sake of satisfying clients. 

Does an ethical kind of work exist? 

I love astronomy and planetary science, but after learning how intertwined these sciences are with war and weapons, I've decided the world has enough astronomers. 

And now I've got to decide what to "be when I grow up". 

In your opinion, what does the world need?

And can that be done without ethical compromises? 

• Moderators
4 minutes ago, Propaganda_of_the_Deed said:

Endangered wildlife and plant conservation

My daughter wants to do that. 

Part of me just wants to be a farmer, but then I remember my poor unfortunate potted plants. 

• Moderators
12 minutes ago, Ejaz said:

Teaching seems ethical and very important, depending on your interest.

I am teacher and while it is one of the 'cleaner' professions I had to give up my last job because of ethical issues. But yes, it's still one of the better options.

@notme any opportunities for free lancing in civil engineering?  Like, do a small project instead of a job.

• Moderators
12 minutes ago, starlight said: