Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Noor Taleb

God is infinite, but aren’t numbers infinite?

Rate this topic

2 hours ago, Noor Taleb said:

God IS  INFINITE RIGHT THEN........

ARENT NUMBERS INFINTE?

My understanding, and I'm a poor mathematician but a semi-acceptable observer, is that numbers are finite and beyond the highest number, we are just dealing with symbolic representations and theories.

A googolplex is finite, beyond the finity of numbers mathematicians use things like Aleph-0, which I know nothing about other than it's not a number, I can't buy Aleph-0 boxes of Barfi and its usage is probably not useful to explain anything beyond theory.

To the human mind, while we like to think of infinite quantities, we cannot comprehend let alone write down what an infinite number looks like without resorting to using something that doesn't even resemble a number anymore. Does the human need to know the existence of 999 duotrigintillion googolplexes? Not really, and such figure has no significance other than comparison and theory. Are 999 duotrigintillion googolplexes even a correct number? I wouldn't know, and most people wouldn't, because we have finite understanding and there is no proof that numbers are infinite, we can theorise, but that wouldn't be answering your question.

So really, according to the realms of the human mind at least, numbers are finite, and I think that suits humans just fine. 

Now, if you'll all excuse me, I need to go count some sheep... One, two, three, fou...

Edited by aaaz1618

44 minutes ago, aaaz1618 said:

My understanding, and I'm a poor mathematician but a semi-acceptable observer, is that numbers are finite and beyond the highest number, we are just dealing with symbolic representations and theories.