Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
ShiaChat.com
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Iran, Turkey drying up Tigris river?

Rate this topic

• Advanced Member

Recently Iraq has accused both Iran and Turkey of applying policies which are drying up the Tigris river, and causing drought.

Now I don't want to hear anyone say "this topic will divide the ummah" or such nonsense, these issues are public and are supposed to be discussed because they endanger lives. This is not me saying it, this is Iraq's Water Minister who said publicly that these two countries are drying Iraq up.

So why are Iran and Turkey employing these policies? And what can Iraq do about it?

• Advanced Member
10 minutes ago, repenter said:

I'm not an expert in geography, but i don't see how Iran could possibly "dry up a river" it doesn't even have access too. Which policies are these and why?

The Sirwan River in Iran connects to the Tigres River through the Diyala River.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diyala_River

There is already an Iraqi water activist group targeting this issue;

http://www.savethetigris.org/tag/sirwan-river/

This is the statement of the Iraqi Water Ministry to the activist group;

Touching upon the issue of Iranian dam-construction, the minister explained that currently 10 dams are being built in Iran, while more have already been completed despite its devastating environmental impact on the tributaries of the Tigris River. Daryan Dam however remains the biggest threat considering its diversion of water from the Sirwan River (Diyala River) through through underground tunnels to feed agricultural areas in Iran. Therefore, these tunnels would prevent the Sirwan River from flowing into Iraqi territory and would desiccate Diyala River completely.

Edited by Sumerian