Rate this topic

In al Kafi, Kitab al hujjah, Ch.62, H.1 it states that of the signs of the next imam is that he should be the eldest son of his father:

"Muhammad ibn Yahya has narrated from Ahmad ibn Muhammad from ibn abu Nasr who has said that he asked abu al-Hassan al-Rida (a.s.) the following.  "When the Imam dies through  what means one would know the succeeding Imam (a.s.)?" He said, "For the Imam there are  certain signs. Of such sign one is that he must be the eldest son of his father...."

However, Imam Hasan al-Askari was not the eldest and he had an older brother. So the question is how can he be the imam?

One answer is that when the imam said that the next imam will be of the eldest, he meant of the eldest surviving sons. But i am not sure. Can the knowledgable ones please give an answer.

I'm no expert but this sounds to me like something the Ismailis would say (about the Imam needing to be the eldest). Are you sure this hadith is sahih; there are many ahadith of questionable authenticity in the books.

Imam al-Hussain (as) was not the eldest son of his father, nor was Imam Musa al-Kadhim (as).

Found this hadith in al kafi which is pretty interesting, although it is weak: