Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
ShiaChat.com
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Instruments in house?

Rate this topic

• Advanced Member

Salam, I know Music and instruments are haram or some opinions differ where some say it depends on the type of music. I grew up where in school you had to learn music and than choose from playing instruments by itself or singing music when we got older in school. I read a hadith from Wasa'il ul-Shia recently that is making me nervous and putting me in a predicament.

Amir ul-Mu’minīn ‘Ali (a.s.) says,

“Angels do not even enter a house that has wine, drum, tambourine or a flute. Even the prayers of the inhabitants of this house are unacceptable. They are deprived of barakat.”7

I don't listen to or play Music anymore and only publicly played Music while being in middle school until I graduated highschool when it was required, so it's been years. Obviously I wasn't raised knowing this about instruments and never played publicly for myself but did play Music for myself (not singing) for many years as a hobby. I do have drums, 2 pianos, and 4 guitars in my house. What do I do? You're not supposed to sell them either I think Ayatollah Shirazi says.. As long as they are put away and not being used am I ok? I usually don't ask questions here, but I think I need more dialouge with fellow Shia since I have many other questions that are not clear cut...Shukran

• Advanced Member

Alaikum salam

The Holy Prophet (S) has stated,

“A person who possesses a sitar, on the day of Qiyāma will be raised with a black face. His hands will be holding a sitar of fire. Seventy thousand angels with maces of fire will be hitting him on the face and the head. The singer will arise from his grave, blind, deaf and dumb. The adulterer will be similarly raised. The player of flute will also be made to rise in this way as will be the drum player.”9