Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Study Music

Rate this topic

Guest Yahya

Salam,

I know that most, if not all, music is haram but it has always been helpful to me while im revising. I know i cant listen to Quran while im studying and I think it's a bit inappropriate to listen to a latmiya. What do you guys think is an appropriate Islamic replacement for music? Is listening to dua okay or is it a similar situation as that of the Quran? If silence is the only option then that's okay.

Thanks for the help.

• Advanced Member

:bismillah:

:salam: 

According to my marja' (Sayyed Fadlallah), it's okay to listen to certain types of music as long as the requirements of it being halal are met (E.g. it's not party music, or as another example it helps you focus more).

Personally, I listen to alot of study music mainly due to the fact I can't focus at all while studying, even if there isn't any background noise. Listening to it has considerably improved my focus anywhere I go, even during class.

For anyone that's confused:

Hope this helps.

:ws:

• Forum Administrators
7 hours ago, Abu Hadi said:

There is a wide difference on this subject between marjaa'. You need to refer to your marjaa' for this issue. 

Is there a wide difference?

I always understood that the more commonly followed mar'ja are reasonably similar in their advice i.e. anything that adults listen to for pleasure is not allowed. That would cover classical and popular contemporary music.

• Moderators

There are some common things between them, such as 

Any music that talks about haram in a positive light, leads toward haram, 

or is used in immoral gatherings is haram. 

There is a difference of opinion on some types of music, 

for example classical and jazz without lyrics and folk music / ancient music