Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
Ibn Al-Shahid

Books and knowledge; how do we read?

Rate this topic

بسمه تعالى

السلام عليكم

How do we read a book? If I'm reading a book about a certain philosophical notion, how can I judge if this is right or wrong whilst I am just a beginner at the subject? Do I read other people's views about it? And how do I decide who's views are more valuable in terms of correctness?

This isn't only about philosophy but Islamic books as well. 

في امان الله

If you do not already have a strong foundation of a subject, then it is impossible for you to judge if the book is "right or wrong". I like the scientific perspective of looking at things. You learn something new. Later on you realize what you learned was not completely accurate and thus you seek out the more closer truth. 

Knowledge is always based on starting with other people's views. Every subject from math, science, philosophy, to religion you must learn about what others before learned. Then we build upon that foundation. 

Probably the only way to know whose views are more valuable in terms of correctness is by judging the content by what you have learned but only if you have a deep understanding of the topic already.

Epistemology is the philosophy of knowledge and everything regarding knowledge. And not even epidemiologists all agree on what knowledge is or how to obtain it. 

:salam: