Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Al-Hussayni

Is vanilla extract halal or haram??

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

3 hours ago, Al-Hussayni said:

:salam:

Question as above. I only found out recently that Vanilla extract actually comes from alcohol..is this true? If this is the case, does it make almost most vanilla based products haraam??

 

Salam Alaykom. 

According to Shia marajea' viewpoint, it's necessary to avoid from vanilla extraxt, and its using is forbidden. because there is at least %35 alcohol in vanilla extract.

Grand Ayatollah Khamenei (may Allah grant him long life):If the alcohol is not intoxicating and it is not in a liquid form either, it is halal.

Grand Ayatollah Sistani (may Allah grant him long life):

Given the supposition made in the question, it is not permissible.

Although alcohol is ritually pure, it is forbidden to drink it. In case, however, there is alcohol in a foodstuff but the alcohol has evaporated and disappeared, there would be no problem in eating the food. That is to say, if the amount of alcohol existing in the food is so meager that it is generally considered as having no alcohol, there is no objection in eating that thing (food or drink). If indeed, there is 35% alcohol in vanilla extract, it is forbidden to eat it except for when it may have dissolved and disappeared in other ingredients. For example, if a little quantity of vanilla extract is used for cooking a lot of cakes and in the eye of 'urf (custom) it is not considered to be containing alcohol, it is permissible to eat the cake.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/19/2016 at 2:37 PM, Mohammad-Reza said:

Salam Alaykom. 

According to Shia marajea' viewpoint, it's necessary to avoid from vanilla extraxt, and its using is forbidden. because there is at least %35 alcohol in vanilla extract.

Grand Ayatollah Khamenei (may Allah grant him long life):If the alcohol is not intoxicating and it is not in a liquid form either, it is halal.

Grand Ayatollah Sistani (may Allah grant him long life):

Given the supposition made in the question, it is not permissible.

Although alcohol is ritually pure, it is forbidden to drink it. In case, however, there is alcohol in a foodstuff but the alcohol has evaporated and disappeared, there would be no problem in eating the food. That is to say, if the amount of alcohol existing in the food is so meager that it is generally considered as having no alcohol, there is no objection in eating that thing (food or drink). If indeed, there is 35% alcohol in vanilla extract, it is forbidden to eat it except for when it may have dissolved and disappeared in other ingredients. For example, if a little quantity of vanilla extract is used for cooking a lot of cakes and in the eye of 'urf (custom) it is not considered to be containing alcohol, it is permissible to eat the cake.

The part I bolded should apply. In baking a cake, typically a teaspoon or two of vanilla extract is used. It is safe to say the alcohol content would completely evaporate by the time the cake is finished baking. 

Edited by terra

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...