DigitalUmmah

Negative/ intrusive thoughts - how to control them

Rate this topic

Salam, Ya Ali (as) Madad, Lanat upon the enemies of the Ahlulbayt (as)

this post/ thread was inspired by sister @hameedeh blog post:

www.shiachat.com/forum/blogs/entry/296-negative-thoughts  

I thought of replying in the comments, but feel that it would be better to discuss in in a separate thread, as this is something I have a lot of experience in dealing with.

we all have negative thoughts. its a natural part of our thoughts process. its easy for people to say "oh just ignore them", or "think about something else" or "just think about happy things", or my personal favourite "people have it worse than you why are you even sad".

let me rebut all these cliche advices by making a simple point - if I say to you "do not think of a kangaroo" - what is the first think you are going to think about? a kangaroo, obviously. similarly. saying "dont think about negative thoughts" will gurantee that the person will think of those exact thoughts.

in order to actually understand negative/ intrusive thoughts, we must first understand how they work.

[PART 1] how our minds work

many of us think of memories or thoughts as flashes that happen on the screen of our mind, like we are sat in a cinema watching the screen. if I ask you to recall a happy memory of your childhood, then it will show up on the screen and we will enjoy it, if i ask you what you ate for breakfast 2 days ago, you will picture it in your mind. so when you are "picturing" a negative thought. it is as though it is being shown on the screen, so all you have to do is "shut your eyes" (so to speak) and the picture will just go away. this is why people think it is so easy to ignore negative thoughts.

I do not like this way of representing it.

instead, let us PROPERLY look at how our brains work.