Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
ShiaMan14

Miracle in Saudi Arabia - All the time!!!

Rate this topic

So the Ramadan moon was sighted in Saudi Arabia and UAE on Sunday thereby starting Ramadan on Monday.

Now I am no scientist but it was scientifically impossible to see the moon on Sun in the Middle East so how did people in Saudi and UAE see it. I am sure they were not lying to it must have been a miracle and that too a miracle limited to Saudi and UAE only.

It would be okay if they just came out and said they go by the birth of the moon and not on being able to sight it. But the lying.....

moon1.gif

moon2.gif

Okay, stupid question from me : you don't just set a day for it to begin?

Example: ( this is a simplified formula) We set Easter on the Sunday following the first full moon after the vernal equinox. The beginning of the Lenten fast is calculated from that.

@LeftCoastMom I always thought it began with the first sighting of the Crescent moon during the month of Ramadan, which is why every year it jumps back several days to match up with the sighting.

I feel like the reason its so hard these days is because ,1450 years ago, there was no infrastructure and buildings, nor was there anywhere the amount of light pollution we have nowadays. But even despite this, @shiaman14 has a really good observation, and it should be considered. I take it safe: just fast. Fasting a couple days extra during the beginning of Ramadan is in no way out of line, because only the last days of Ramadan does it get a bit controversial, as you cannot fast during Eid al fitr. 

35 minutes ago, LeftCoastMom said:

Example: ( this is a simplified formula) We set Easter on the Sunday following the first full moon after the vernal equinox. The beginning of the Lenten fast is calculated from that.