Jump to content
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Rate this topic


Recommended Posts

  • Basic Members

I'm a young Muslim girl who knows my wrong and rights, Alhamdulillah I don't drink smoke or anything. 

My brother brought a Bundaberg pineapple and coconut sparkling drink, I checked the ingredients it dosnt show any alcohol ingredient, as I was drinking it one of my friends tell me that it has alcohol in it, I searched it up online and found out that they have 0.5% alcohol in their drinks. I'm confused, am I nejes? Do I have to make ghussul or is their anything I could do? Do I throw away the drinks? Is 0.5% something that is haram? Someone help please? 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member

Salam

According to Sayyid Sistaini (may Allah prolong his life), alcohol is pure.

Quote

http://www.sistani.org/english/book/46/2029/

All kinds of alcohol (whether extracted from wood or other sources) is pure, not najis. So, the medicines, the perfumes, and the food containing alcohol are pure and can be used. It is also permissible to eat such food if the amount of alcohol is very minute, e.g., 2%.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member
2 hours ago, John Algar said:

Salam

According to Sayyid Sistaini (may Allah prolong his life), alcohol is pure.

 

salam i think the fatwa might be misleading if it is cited like this though it is correct. Some who are new to Islam may think that drinking alcohol following to its being pure is Halal ,too.

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01123/

According to Grand Ayatullah Sistani alcohol is taher (ritually clean) but it is not permissible to drink it. Using perfume and medicines mixed with alcohol is permissible.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Basic Members
19 hours ago, John Algar said:

Salam

According to Sayyid Sistaini (may Allah prolong his life), alcohol is pure.

 

Thankyou for your help , very appreciated. I was so concerned.. On hearing that if you touch alcohol eventually you are najis for 40 days or so, I might as well ask if that's true ..? 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Basic Members
17 hours ago, mahdi servant.01 said:

salam i think the fatwa might be misleading if it is cited like this though it is correct. Some who are new to Islam may think that drinking alcohol following to its being pure is Halal ,too.

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01123/

According to Grand Ayatullah Sistani alcohol is taher (ritually clean) but it is not permissible to drink it. Using perfume and medicines mixed with alcohol is permissible.

Thankyou so much jazaka/jazaki Allah kheir:)

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member
1 hour ago, Zeinabibrahim said:

Thankyou for your help , very appreciated. I was so concerned.. On hearing that if you touch alcohol eventually you are najis for 40 days or so, I might as well ask if that's true ..? 

This is about drinking alchohol, not about touching it.

It is narrated by the Ahlulbayt [AS] that your prayers won't be accepted for 40 days if you drink alchohol.

So this has nothing to do with tahara or najasa either.

Edited by The Batman
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member
20 hours ago, mahdi servant.01 said:

salam i think the fatwa might be misleading if it is cited like this though it is correct. Some who are new to Islam may think that drinking alcohol following to its being pure is Halal ,too.

http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01123/

According to Grand Ayatullah Sistani alcohol is taher (ritually clean) but it is not permissible to drink it. Using perfume and medicines mixed with alcohol is permissible.

Salam

You're right. I should have explained that too. It's really confusing sometimes.

Thank you for reminding me of that.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Advanced Member
On 1/8/2016 at 2:15 PM, Zeinabibrahim said:

My brother brought a Bundaberg pineapple and coconut sparkling drink, I checked the ingredients it dosnt show any alcohol ingredient, as I was drinking it one of my friends tell me that it has alcohol in it, I searched it up online and found out that they have 0.5% alcohol in their drinks. I'm confused, am I nejes? Do I have to make ghussul or is their anything I could do? Do I throw away the drinks? Is 0.5% something that is haram? Someone help please? 

Salam Alaykum

Ayt. Sistani's view is: 

If the amount of alcohol in food and drinks is very little like 2% it is pure and you are also permitted to eat or drink such food and drinks.

 All kinds of alcohol (whether extracted from wood or other sources) is pure, not najis. So, the medicines, the perfumes, and the food containing alcohol are pure and can be used. It is also permissible to eat such food if the amount of alcohol is very minute, e.g., 2%.  www.sistani.org

 

Besides, since you weren't aware of the alcohol in the beverage you're not sinful and therefore not regarded to be like the one who drinks alcohol deliberately (شارب الخمر); which means you're not expected to repent (even if it's always great to ask for Allah's forgiveness.) and your prayer inshallah will be accepted.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...