Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Rate this topic

Should Muslims Teach Their Kids Art?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVwbeQjafuA

Any artistic Muslims in the house ? 

Muslim Artists say I!

Aren't we so.... 
under rated .... 

Like if you agree ^_^

I was given a few questions 
to ponder over by a fellow hijabi artist, 
writer! sister Na'ima B Robert-

Do You Agree?

Anything To Add?

I'm studying Illustration at the moment. Coming from the Middle East to Europe there is A LOT of difference in what is taught. Nudity (anatomy) is mandatory unless of religious reasons (which I explained and thank Allah they accepted to excuse me out of classes). And there seems to be A LOT of sexuality in nearly all of the things they teach. I don't know if it's the perverted mentalities or simply art in the west.

I don't know exactly what is meant by "teach art". Every child is innately an artist, and some keep this talent into adulthood and develop the skills to do amazing things with it. Does "teach art" mean view art? Does it mean to encourage creativity? Or does it mean to take formal classes and study the styles and lives of past masters?

I don't know exactly what is meant by "teach art". Every child is innately an artist, and some keep this talent into adulthood and develop the skills to do amazing things with it. Does "teach art" mean view art? Does it mean to encourage creativity? Or does it mean to take formal classes and study the styles and lives of past masters?

To teach them the skills.

ShiaChat has a topic that you might be interested in. Islamic Art Thread:

I think one of the greater tragedies that has befallen the Muslim world in general is the decline of much of its traditional arts.