Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
Shiavert

Sunni "friend"

Rate this topic

Asalaam Alaikum sisters,

Please give me your honest opinions:

I've been talking with a Sunni British born- Pakistani for the past 6 months. I asked him his thoughts on Karbala and he kind of brushed me off, this was 2-3 weeks ago. I didn't push the subject. He has never spoken ill of Shia's hmm maybe because I wouldn't allow it. Yesterday is asked him about Ashura and Muharram and he got such a tragic and sad expression. He knows I am a convert and he knows I have followed al-Bayat...he said that he wished I would follow the true ISlam, what the majority of Muslims across the world do.

Again I didn't push te subject but I'm a little fearful he would try to "convert" me to Sunni.

How should I go about talking to him about things that are important to me, such as Karbala, Ashura etc.

Asalaam Alaikum sisters,

I've been talking with a Sunni British born- Pakistani for the past 6 months. I asked him his thoughts on Karbala and he kind of brushed me off, this was 2-3 weeks ago. I didn't push the subject. He has never spoken ill of Shia's hmm maybe because I wouldn't allow it. Yesterday is asked him about Ashura and Muharram and he got such a tragic and sad expression. He knows I am a convert and he knows I have followed al-Bayat...he said that he wished I would follow the true ISlam, what the majority of Muslims across the world do.

Again I didn't push te subject but I'm a little fearful he would try to "convert" me to Sunni.

How should I go about talking to him about things that are important to me, such as Karbala, Ashura etc.

leave him, he had made his mind, you made your mind and it seems that for both of you the sect matters allot.

Asalaam Alaikum sisters,

I made a new Article which might help you: