Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
HotelCalifornia

Shia Imams Divinity

Rate this topic

Hi Shias,

I am not Shia nor muslim, I am actually a university student in Scotland studying Arabic and I'm doing  a bit of research into the Shia (which I find interesting and specifically the marterydom of husayn pbuh to be very moving).

One thing I am trying to understand is what exactly the view is of the Shia (specifically Twelvers) regards the divinity of your imams and their connection with Allah.  I understand you believe that the Imams are decided by Allah and have an element of divinity, how does this tie in with Muhammed (peace be upon him) being the last prophet as Shia also believe.  Basically what is the status of the imam - they are not a prophet, but they are not mere mortal men like the Sunni Caliphs like Umar or Uthman?

Thankyou

I don't know how much this will help. And I can't (fully) interpret this narration myself either.

علي بن إبراهيم، عن أبيه، عن إسماعيل بن مرار قال: كتب الحسن بن العباس المعروفي إلى الرضا عليه السلام: جعلت فداك أخبرني ما الفرق بين الرسول والنبي والامام؟ قال: فكتب أو قال: الفرق بين الرسول والنبي والامام أن الرسول الذي ينزل عليه جبرئيل فيراه ويسمع كلامه وينزل عليه الوحي وربما رأى في منامه نحو رؤيا إبراهيم عليه السلام، والنبي ربما سمع الكلام وربما رأى الشخص ولم يسمع والامام هو الذي يسمع الكلام ولا يرى الشخص