Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
Christianlady

Christianity And Praising God With Music

Rate this topic

Hello,

I am currently studying praising God, which for Christians can include praising Him with singing and playing musical instruments. I thought I'd share this and if you have any questions or kind comments (including comments that voice disagreement yet written in a kind manner), please feel free to give them. Thanks.

The founder of Christianity is Jesus Christ, who taught his apostles and disciples and led them by example, promising the Holy Spirit to continue to lead them (John 14-16). His promise was fulfilled and his disciples, who walked and talked with him, were filled with the Holy Spirit and boldly told others about him, whereas before they received the Holy Spirit, they had been afraid for their lives (Acts 1 and 2). Continuing today, God fills sincere followers of Jesus Christ with His Holy Spirit, fulfilling the prophecy in Joel concerning God's Spirit: http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Bible/Joel3.html

Now, singing and/or praising God with musical instruments was nothing new to these Jewish believers. Recorded for posterity is a time when Jesus and his disciples sang together (Matthew 26:30; Mark 14:26). In Jewish culture, singing and making music for the Lord was (and for many, still is) an important part of praising God.

Moses, for example, sang to the Lord in thanksgiving when the children of Israel escaped slavery in Egypt:

Exodus 15 (NIV)

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Exodus+15&version=NIV

"Then Moses and the Israelites sang this song to the Lord:

“I will sing to the Lord,
    for he is highly exalted.

Both horse and driver
    he has hurled into the sea.

“The Lord is my strength and my defense[a];
    he has become my salvation.