Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
Ali-Reza

Going Back To School At 37, Any Tips?

Rate this topic

Salam All

So I have decided to go back to school at 37 to get my masters. I got my BS in computer science with minor in management because I knew the management route is what I wanted to take as I knew programming wasn't something I could do for a long time. After over 10 years coding, I made switch to IT management a few years ago and now I feel that I need to continue now that I am single again, this is my perfect chance.

This is straight personal. I am willing to take on investment personally here. I currently work as a manager and I see the need for it to get out of my "geeky" self and I think education is one way. Also I want to continue staying on to of things, methodologies, technology, and network.

I will probably attend a local State school either San Diego State or UC San Diego. My ideal school if the private school of USD which is actually a catholic school but has Muslim students too.

Anyway, I wanted to see if any of you went back to school at older age? What are some tips you can give? I am planning to continue working while going to school. Also considering my age not taking tests and finals in so many years, any tips you can give would be much appreciated.

(wasalam) brother

Haven't been back to school but I think that since you have worked for a significant amount of time you will probably find the course to be very theoretical (doesn't mean you won't like it), since university courses typically are quite theory-based. For this reason it's probably a good idea you're still working on the side.