Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

• Basic Members

So I'm new to this and have stumbled across this website while google searching whether Fashion is haraam. Fashion has always bee something I liked, but I'm pulled between either fashion design or fashion promotion and communication (so using media and other mediums to advertise fashion more or less). And I'd researched all of this years back, an learned that it was okay as long as I was designing and creating modest clothing. But then last night I was listening to a lecture and this scholar/speaker was saying that abayas shouldn't be over embellished or different colours like green. And I was thinking whether this is actually true (like its written in the Quran or in a Hadith) or whether this was his opinion. And not just abaya but other clothing, like should it all be plain and have no embellishments but obviously loose fitting?

• Advanced Member

Clothing should have a modest fit. In the Quran it only mentions to cover ones bosoms.

Surah 24:30 And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; that they should not display their beauty and ornaments except what (must ordinarily) appear thereof; that they should draw their veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty except to their husbands, their fathers, their husband's fathers, their sons, their husbands' sons, their brothers or their brothers' sons, or their sisters' sons, or their women, or the slaves whom their right hands possess, or male servants free of physical needs, or small children who have no sense of the shame of sex; and that they should not strike their feet in order to draw attention to their hidden ornaments. And O ye Believers! turn ye all together towards Allah, that ye may attain Bliss.