Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

How Much Knowledge To Recite On The Pulpit?

Rate this topic

• Advanced Member

(salam)

Recently there has been much discussion about the rights of certain scholars to be on the pulpit and whether they are qualified and so forth- Especially in regards to the wrong thing being said in lectures. Please vote in the poll and answer the following questions:

1. How much formal knowledge in your opinion should a scholar have before he is allowed to recite on the pulpit? Would you trust a scholar who had studied In Hawza more than the one who self studied even if they studied the same books.

2. At what point does it become acceptable for a scholar to wear a turban (amama)?

Thank you

Also I just edited the post to make it anonymous. If it didn't work kindly inform me as I am new to this. Thank you.

Edited by *Sayyeda*

1. I don't think somebody has to go to hawza in order to study the religion. I wouldn't necessarily trust someone who has gone through the hawza system over someone who studied on their own. Just because somebody has studied in hawza for 5-10 years doesn't mean they know what they're talking about.

2. I don't see wearing a turban as something a scholar must do. However, if they do put it on, they better be sure they know what they're talking about.

(wasalam)

• Advanced Member

I voted for self-study. As long as someone did a thorough research on a topic, put together his/her facts and could put up a decent talk, then I'm all for it.

Interestingly though so far its tied for self study and Doctrate/formal education

My problem is what to do if there is an alim who seeks to disunite people. What realistically can we do?

If one says something would it be gheebat (backbiting) or Nahi Anil Mukar (to forbid what is wrong)