Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
ShiaChat.com
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Shia Women Achieving More Than Men?

Rate this topic

• Advanced Member

Salaam alaikum sisters,

I am new to shiachat and am really enjoying the insights on this forum. I thought I'd post a question to all of you and get your feedback.

I recently spoke to a friend who is pursuing her PhD and we got on the topic of the strides that shia women have made in education and the workforce. More than becoming doctors and lawyers, we are college professors, journalists, and working in government and social policy. While I am extremely thankful and proud to be a part of such a group, I have spoken to many sisters who agree that our brothers unfortunately have not kept up with us. Without meaning any disrespect, there are many brothers out there who do value education and successful careers, but from the communities that I've lived in and observed...our women have much more drive than our men. I am focusing more on the younger/2nd generation who were born and raised in the US/Canada. As our prophet and imams have stressed so highly the importance of education, shouldn't we maintain that level along with our other religious obligations?

• Advanced Member

That is another issue - if you are a highly educated women, ideally wouldn't you like to find someone close to if not at the same level of education when it comes time for marriage? These brothers are making our lives really difficult! Haha. Jokes aside though, it's unfortunate that you're almost punished for being educated and successful because some men/families prefer the younger more impressionable type of girl. I guess some of it is also intimidation...

• Advanced Member