Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
sloth

[LAWS]Tashahhud, Is It Obligatory?

Rate this topic

Hi !

Im not a muslim yet, but im about to convert, i've memorized the Surah Al-Fatiha and Surah al-Ikhlas and shahadah and learned my way around the Salah process, however, im confused about Tashahhud.

Ive read an article that says its not mandatory and prophet Mohammad (pbuh) never said it was.

Then on the other hand I read from wikipedia and other resources that it is mandatory, so, please tell me the Truth regarding this matter, what did the Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) actually say about this in the Quran or Hadith.

So please, help me out. And if someone thinks im asking a stupid question pardon me, im new to this stuff and just learning.

*Fingers crossed that it aint obligatory since its pretty long*

heheh. I think i'll learn it, it will take a few days though, if its obligatory. Even if its not i will learn it at some point because of the later supplication, however at first I want to focus on Fard, the obligatory prayer its my #1 priority.

Thanks in advance =)

-Sloth

Bismillah

http://www.shiapen.com/fiqh/shia-method-of-prayers-salat/tashahud-concluding-salat

You need to express you faith verbally if you desire fullest reward.

But keep in mind that expressing faith verbally requires some energy if it does not come from the heart.

I once asked an imam on internet.

Good luck

Guest adilrizvi

Tashahud is obligatory, I'm afraid. Here is the ruling:-

There are eleven obligatory acts for prayers:

1. Niyyat (intention)
  2. Qiyam (standing erect)
  3. Takbiratul Ehram (saying Allahu Akbar while commencing the prayers)
  4. Ruku' (bowing)
  5. Sajdatayn (two prostration)
  6. Qira'at (recitation of Surah al-Hamd and other surah)
  7. Zikr (prescribed recitation in Ruku' and Sajdah)