Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
sukaina_08

Q About Hijab And Haircare

Rate this topic

Salam ladies,

I'm new to Islam and plan to start wearing hijab soon. I've been thinking lately about what to do about getting my hair trimmed and hi-lighted though... Do you still go to hair salons - and if so, how do you keep it halal? If not, how do you take care of your hair?

A few months ago, I went to get my hair hi-lighted for the first time, and they bleached it instead (much to my horror), so now I have to go (somewhere else of course) get it hi-lighted every month or so to cover it up. I would never trust myself to do it, and as I have long hair at this point I definitely don't want to mess it up!! I just moved to a new area for my internship, so I don't have any friends - nor do I know anyone who would be able to help me with my hair... I don't know any muslimahs here either...

Looking forward to your responses!

you can still go to hair salons but just ask the people if they have a room at the back or a way to cover the windows or something...they are usually very understanding even after you explain why you need to be somewhere private

salaam alaikum

You can look for a all woman's salon. I found one here run by a muslim sister.Also some salons are willing to let stylist come in before they open for clients. And now that I'm on the subject I asked her for some tips for people who wear hijab and heres what she told me.

1) Don't pull your hair back in ponytail or bun etc when it's wet, this stretches and break and can cause hair loss.

2) Make sure you wash your hair with cool to warm water, not hot water. Again it can cause hair loss .