Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Mothers Milk (of his own wife)

Rate this topic

• Basic Members

Salaam

I am new to shia chat so apologies in advance.

My sister in law just had a baby and our mother in law told her not to let her husband near her breast otherwise he will becomes their new borns brother - is this true? Does that mean your nikkah breaks if your hudband accidentally has your milk?

Can someone please point me in the right direction?

simpleton said:
Salaam

I am new to shia chat so apologies in advance.

My sister in law just had a baby and our mother in law told her not to let her husband near her breast otherwise he will becomes their new borns brother - is this true? Does that mean your nikkah breaks if your hudband accidentally has your milk?

Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Salaam,

No, even if he (considering he is an adult) drank her milk it would not have any effect in terms of establish a relation through breast-feeding at this stage. That only applies to children who have not completed 2 years of age (amongst other conditions).

(Excerpt from Rules Regarding Suckling a Child)

(viii) That the child should not have completed two years of his age, and, if it is suckled after it has completed two years of its age, it does not become Mahram of anyone. In fact, if, for example, it sucks milk eight times before completing its two years, and seven times after completing its two years, it does not become Mahram of anyone. But, if milk continues from the breast for more than two years since a woman gave birth to her child, and she suckles the child continuously, that child will become Mahram of those who have been mentioned above.

http://www.al-islam.org/laws/marriage2.html#2483

• Advanced Member