Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله
Sign in to follow this  
Abu Talib Ansar

Iran vs. iraq

Rate this topic

I am new here, and had a question.

Like my name, Abu Talib, I am not Muslim, but I am studying Islam and the Middle East.  My favorite subject is Shi'ism.

I would like to know what the largest differences were between Iraqi Shi'ites and Iranian Shi'ites?

Did any potential religious differences spur on the Iran-Iraq war?

Hi..

There is no different in school of thought between the 2 what so ever.  Infact, we share alot of the scholars.  alot of the Irani scholars graduate from Iraqi religious schools (hawza) and vise-a-versa for Iraqi scholars.

During the war, there was alot of Shia Iraqi soldiers (who were forced to fight Iran) who were taken by the Irani government as POW.  Majority of them refused to fight and chose to surrender to the Iranians where they know they'd be better off.  They were released into Iran as normal civilians a few years later.

There are some little cultural differences between Iranies and Iraqies, but its almost never religious.

Wa salam

Dear Brother Abu Talib,

I believe my bretheren have answered your query concerning Shias of Iran and Iraq.

I would like to mention that Abu Talib A.S.  was indeed a muslim.

1. It is a historical fact Abu Talib conducted the marriage

ceremony of  Prophet Muhammad SAW  to Khadeejah A.S.

A question arises, how is it possible that a non muslim can conduct the marriage of a Muslim, and a Prophet at that? Lets say as an example in this day and age is it possible that a Hindu a polytheist can conduct a marriage of lets say a Muslim or a  Christian or even a Jew who all profess Monotheism ?