Jump to content
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!) ×
Guests can now reply in ALL forum topics (No registration required!)
In the Name of God بسم الله

Aliz

Basic Members
  • Posts

    4
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Religion
    Islam

Aliz's Achievements

  1. Indeed any gelatine from Basa would be haram because Basa is haram. The quote above appears to offer a way forward for beef gelatine. I will seek to know its source (bones or skins) then if not successful go ahead and use it. Grateful for your quoted details, @Ashvazdanghe.
  2. Salam @Ashvazdanghe, We can only assume the animal where the gelatine came from was slaughtered according to Islam, as the manufacturer says their product is halal. Otherwise, how can the product be called halal?
  3. Thank you very much for the thoughtful reply, @Mahdavist. Unfortunately, the product is made as softgels so everything is moulded together.
  4. I am looking at using a dietary supplement that has gelatine in its soft gel capsules. There are two gelatine options, the first is bovine and the other is fish. The latter includes material from Basa fish which is considered non-halal in Shia laws because it does not have scales. The manufacturing company states that the used gelatine is halal, but there is no qualification of that beyond the obvious point that bovine is from beef (as an alternative to porcine which is from pork). My question hence is which is a safer option to go for - beef gelatine with the ambiguity or fish gelatine with Basa? I personally feel happier with fish gelatine but only if Basa contents are allowed. P.S. Yes there are other companies providing the supplement too, but this company offers the most transparent content details by far. So looking elsewhere may be more painful.
×
×
  • Create New...