Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Ilovefrenchtoast

Are frozen foods halal?

Rate this question

Question

Guest Ilovefrenchtoast

Are frozen foods from supermarkets such as Walmart halal? I mean the waffles or pizza or french toast etc they have in the freezers that you only need to warm or bake a little to eat? Thanks so much guys

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
2 hours ago, Guest Ilovefrenchtoast said:

Are frozen foods from supermarkets such as Walmart halal? I mean the waffles or pizza or french toast etc they have in the freezers that you only need to warm or bake a little to eat? Thanks so much guys

Read the label on every food item you purchase. By law the company needs to list the ingredients. If there are animal ingredients such as gelatin, beef fat, lard, animal by-products, etc., don't buy it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

@Hameedeh 

Quote
Question: What is your ruling on having foods that contain gelatin?
Answer: It is permissible to eat gelatin if one doubts whether it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. But, if it is known that it was derived from an animal, then it is not permissible to eat without ascertaining that the animal was slaughtered according to sharí‘a. This prohibition applies, as a matter of obligatory precaution, even if it was extracted from animal bones.
Of course, if a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, there is no problem at all in eating it. Similarly, even if one has doubt whether the animal was slaughtered Islamically or not, still there is no problem in adding the gelatin [made from that animal] to the food in such a minute amount that it is completely absorbed in it.
 
2Question: Is it is permissible to consume a foodstuff that contains gelatin?
Answer: If you do not know whether the gelatin in the food comes from an animal or from vegetable, you can eat it.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
6 minutes ago, Hameedeh said:

Gelatin is an animal product. Vegetable sources of a thickener would be pectin, guar gum, agar agar and carrageenan. 

you got me there, but there could be a chemical change :D 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

There are some ingredients that could be animal or vegetable (for example, Glycerol or Mono Glycerides), but you can ask the company if the source is a plant or an animal. The dictionary says that gelatin is an animal product. Somebody needs to tell Ayatullah Sistani HA that the person who asked that question has given him wrong information, that gelatin is a known animal product. In western countries gelatin is haram unless the label has a halal certification. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
36 minutes ago, Guest istilllovefrenchtoast said:

that was little to no help thanks all :)

Waffles, french toast and pizza cannot be considered "halal" unless they have the "halal" logo that Ashvazdanghe posted above. Can you eat those frozen items, yes you can, if they don't have any haram ingredients. You always need to read the label on the back or side of the package, because companies sometimes change their ingredients. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
14 minutes ago, Hameedeh said:

Waffles, french toast and pizza cannot be considered "halal" unless they have the "halal" logo that Ashvazdanghe posted above. Can you eat those frozen items, yes you can, if they don't have any haram ingredients. You always need to read the label on the back or side of the package, because companies sometimes change their ingredients. 

This is incorrect. The "halal" logo is worthless in and of itself.

181. Question: We enter some super markets in Europe and find meat in tin containers produced by a European company with the writing on the package that conveys the sense of it being “halal” or “slaughtered according to Islamic laws”. Is it permissible to buy and eat such meat?

Answer: The writing [on the package] has no value if it does not lead to certainty [that it is actually halal].

https://www.al-islam.org/a-code-of-practice-for-muslims-in-the-west-ayatullah-sistani/eating-drinking

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
29 minutes ago, E.L King said:

This is incorrect. The "halal" logo is worthless in and of itself.

The guest was asking if french toast, pizza and waffles are halal, not about MEAT items.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×