E.L King

Is depression a real mental illness?

Rate this topic

What I don't understand is how depression is considered a mental illness, when I just see it as someone who is just extremely sad. At the end of the day, some people get too sad over things, while other people get over it and go about their way - and it can be over similar things.

For example (I also wonder if race has something to do with this) you will find out stories about a white guy breaking up with his partner in a haram relationship and goes and kills himself for some reason.

While you see some people who lost everything in life but still keep pushing for success - and are patient in their struggles, and do not complain.

It just seems to me as a weakness rather than an illness (like insanity).

NOTE: if you get triggered easily, and your emotional, and your ready to rant and shout in the replies, don't bother replying. 

I am not an Expert.

Core Issue/ The Driving Force -Maybe the result of a conflict between Nature(self)  and Nurture(around us).

Which inturn effects the levels in our Physical body. So, most of the time medicine is like a bandaid unless you work on the Underlying Issue.

Edited by S.M.H.A.

There are two key differences between feeling sad and being clinically depressed. 

1. In a person with clinical depression feelings of melancholy  and sadness are triggered by trivial things or lots of times without even any triggering factor as compared to feeling sad over the death of a relative or failing an exam in a normal, healthy person. 

2. A normal person bounces back after the triggering event is over while a person with depression cannot lift himself from this sadness.

Why I wouldn't think of it as just a weakness because imbalance in the neurotransmitters has been found in patients suffering from depression. While strong faith can help you overcome any illness but still drugs also play a role in restoring the normal balance of neurotransmitters.