Kilij

Why Worship God?

Rate this topic

30 posts in this topic

Hello, Kilij here.

I'm a university student that was never born into a faith or raised into being religious. I never knew my father and mother never liked her experience with religious upbringing thus she didn't raise me into faith. I now have been very interested in religious studies and while a secular field, I am now pretty much open to the belief that God probably exists, so this thread won't require any proofs of God(though I may need some clarifications on what God's nature is like in Islamic theology), but I have perhaps a stranger question I mean to ask with the utmost respect and desire to learn. So forgive me in advance as this will sound blunt, but why do I need God? I really want to find faith, I do, given the choice between belief and unbelief, I see no reason to not at very least believe. However, I still feel there's no reason to adopt religion and become actively religious. I've had a traumatic early childhood at school, was driven to depression when I was failing academically before university(and was rejected by every university I wanted), and was betrayed by several friends. Yet each and every hardship I emerged from as a much stronger and wiser person, all before I was even open to the idea of a single omnipotent God, thus I feel I alone claim the credit for my ultimate success since I highly doubt God would've helped me back in those times. Many people seem to turn to faith at their weakest and turn away from faith at their highest points in life. Yet I have come so far without having turned to faith, other than just simply faith in myself. If I can strike down the obstacles and naysayers in my own life without God, why should I surrender myself to God? The religious life is certainly not easy, especially for one such as myself who lack the experience in worship, things like praying and memorizing passages. I feel as if adopting a religion would add difficulty life, not take it a