Reza

Official Shiachat Career/Employment Advice Thread

Salaam everybody:

Some of you requested that we have a thread discussing careers and employment, including advice on how to choose, apply, and succeed in them.

Since all of you are of different ages, with different qualifications, living in different countries, at different phases of your life, it's hard to provide universal advice, but hopefully there are general principles that will benefit everyone. Hopefully more individualized assistance can also be given, publically or privately.

Feel free to share links, discuss stories, pose questions, or provide answers to other's inquiries. If possible, try to limit conversations about marriage vs career, family vs career, etc (those are better suited for the social forum).

Some links and resources will be provided shortly. Thanks!

Salam all

I have been a senior hiring manager in both the public (NHS) and private sectors (as well as a private tutor) for approx the last 10 years, I was made redundant in june so have been through the whole application process etc these last few months to alhamdulillah land my current job. I have also opened and run a string of businesses, some of which did ok but most totally flopped.

I am from the uk so can help with cv review (after you remove personal info), cover letter writing, applications, UCAS, identifying skills gaps and things like this. Happy to help anyone inshaAllah

Edited by DigitalUmmah

I am currently working as a hiring officer in an Indian pharma organisation. I am mainly handling recruitment for sales positions and first-level/first-line managerial positions.

When i wish to selecting someone, what are some of the things i am looking at? Assuming there are 3 candidates per position-

The distance between their house and the workplace/area

Qualification- whether over or under qualified or just right (one should not feel frustrated after they join)

Work Experience - duration and relevance

Relevant knowledge