Dhulfiqar313

Learning Farsi

(salam)

I am attempting to learn Farsi from this website:

http://www.easypersian.com/

I'm really excited. I've learned the big and small forms of B, P, and T (the letters) so far. I need a lot of practice, because all though I know them and can write them out, I can't read them in a large block of text. I mean, I can, but it's hard and takes me FOREVER to work which letter is which. Oh well, I will practice insh'Allah.

Does anyone have any experience with learning Farsi? I only speak English and broken German, so I have NO experience with indo-iranian languages. At all. If you could give me any tips or pointers, I would greatly appreciate it.

It's so exciting when learning a language :D as a revert I am still struggling with Arabic :(

Unfortunately, my parents didn't bother to teach me their native tongues :( if they had, by now I would be able to speak English, Spanish & Portuguse.

Arabic is on my bucket list. A long with French, Hindi/Urdu, and the rest of German. :S

I agree with Brother HabibKarimi.

Why learn Farsi first, when you could learn Arabic to be able to read the Book of Allah?

I still want to be able to learn Spanish, it's just such an awesome language :D not as awesome as Arabic though. I just love the text of Arabic. I also love the text/script of other languages as well.

Hebrew & Thai look pretty nice as well.

(salam)

Well arabic is not only useful for those who travel in arab countries.. In fact every arab country has its own dialect, and what you'll learn at school or using a book, is literal (fous3a), so you can't really speak with native arabs...

Btw, learning this language will allow you to understand more your religion (quran, duas, namaz...)