Sign in to follow this  
Rohani

Need some help with a few words

(salam)

I need some help finding words that sound similar to these mentioned below and their meaning, as i am still learning arabic

1: Hayawn or hayawan

2: Scarege

3: nech

4: Auuu Akh

5: and is Aimam the same as imam

6: Ha

7: khumba

any help i would appreciate jazaka allahu khair :)

(wasalam)

Edited by theunknownpreacher

You mean Classic Arabic?

Some words sound familiar, but where did you get them?

(salam)

yes classic arabic will work. and well i have heard them somewhere on a project or translation i am working on. so if you hear any that sound similar that i mentioned i would very much so appreciate some definitions to them and jazaka allahu khair for your help

(wasalam)

Guest Sundown

1. Hayawn or hayawan? Hayawan means animal.

2. Scarege? No "c" or "g" in Classic Arabic. Unless you mean "q" and "gh" as in qareeb and ghareeb.

3. nech? No "ch" in Classic Arabic.

4. Auuu Akh? I know Akh means brother.

5. and is Aimam the same as imam? No.

6. Ha? You mean letter haa'?

7. khumba? It doesn't sound Arabic.

I think it helps to know most Arabic words have trilateral roots as in:

SLM > salaam, saalim, islaam, silm, muslim, saleem, aslama, istaslama, sallama.

KTB > kitaab, kaatib, maktabah, maktoob, kataba, istaktaba, kaataba.

As you can see all root letters are visible in each word though it's not always the case. Usually when you know one word and its root, it's easy to guess the meaning of another word having the same root.

I do not advice you to understand these words.

(salam)

And why is that?

(wasalam)

Edited by theunknownpreacher

On 11/7/2009 at 10:57 AM, Rohani said:

I need some help finding words that sound similar to these mentioned below and their meaning, as i am still learning arabic

1: Hayawn or hayawan

:) Salamun Alaikum brother, 

It appears that you & I are looking for the meaning of same word.